Jeep Cherokee 2014

Reviewed: The 2014 Jeep Cherokee 4×4 SUV

The Jeep Cherokee is a full-size SUV that first went into production back in 1974. Fans of the car can buy the latest-generation model, as it got put on general sale back in 2014. As you can imagine, there have been many differences in the styling and features of each generation over the years.

Now in its fourth generation, the Jeep Cherokee is an SUV that is hoping to tempt people away from its competitors. That’s thanks, in part, to its refined styling and off-road capability. So, is this a model that you should consider buying? In today’s blog post, I run through what the new Jeep Cherokee has to offer.

Under the bonnet

There are three engine choices available at the time of writing. Starting with the diesel power plants, we have two 2.0-litre 16-valve units. The first offers 138 brake horsepower, and will get you to 60 mph from a standing start in 10.6 seconds. Fuel economy isn’t too bad at 53 mpg combined, and CO2 emissions are just 139 g/km.

You can also opt for the more powerful unit that boasts 170 brake horsepower. The 0-60 mph time is slightly quicker at 10 seconds exactly, but fuel economy is reduced down to 48 mpg combined. CO2 emissions are also higher, at 154 g/km.

If you’re not a fan of diesel engines, Saxton 4×4 says that there is a 3.2-litre V6 petrol unit that you can choose instead. As standard, you get 268 brake horsepower and a 0-60 mph time of 8.6 seconds. I don’t think too many people will opt for the petrol unit, as fuel economy is a low 29 mpg combined and CO2 emissions skyrocket to 223 g/km.

The slower of the two diesels use a six-speed manual transmission. Curiously is already used in the Alfa Romeo Giulietta.

The other two engines use a nine-speed automatic – a world first! In case you are wondering why I am talking about an Alfa Romeo, it’s worth remember that both marques are owned by one parent Fiat).

Two-wheel drive and four-wheel drive options

Regardless of the engine or trim level, it’s possible to get either a 4×2 or 4×4 version. The latter will doubtless be the pick of the bunch for its off-roading capabilities. If you want the 4×4 version, there are two variants you can have (just to confuse things).

Jeep Active Drive I is the system that you will get by default. The “II” version is a more advanced version and is only available on the top trim levels.

Trim levels

There are four trim levels on the current-generation Jeep Cherokee.

Longitude comes with dual-zone climate control, an infotainment system and rear parking sensors as standard. Longitude Plus has a larger 8.4-inch touchscreen display and a nine-speaker Alpine stereo system.

Limited is the range-topper and is expected to make up the bulk of Cherokee sales. As standard, it comes with automatic headlights and wipers. It also offers sat-nav and leather upholstery.

Finally, there is the Trailhawk special edition. It’s only available with the V6 petrol engine. Features include raised suspension for off-roading and underbody protection.

Image Source

Written by:

Published on: May 12, 2015

Filled Under: Autos Reviews

Views: 1246

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *